Picture-This: TATDP-TI

image

So this reading response is a little late but I decided to do ‘Picture This’ for The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. I chose the scene where Junior has his first day at Reardon. You can see from my sketch the differences between Junior’s culture and white people’s culture. They call him rude names and he starts to feel alone.
I decided to sketch this scene because it’s important to see the transition from Junior’s culture to a white culture. There are so many conflicts regarding these two cultures and the pressure that one child has in living in these two worlds.
Not just this sketch, but this whole book has made me see just how hard it is basically living a double life. I’m glad I read this book and got to experience somewhat of a culture shock that would be. It was very eye-opening.

Leave a Reply

