Reading Letter-A Shade of Vampire

To whom it may concern,

Where do I begin? This book, A Shade of Vampire, isn’t your typical love story. It is a love story about a young woman and an ancient vampire. Sure it sounds a lot like the Twilight series but it’s so much better, in my opinion anyway! There is so much about this book and this series that I love but I cannot put my finger on just one thing. Maybe it is the fact that there is so much going on in the books and it is so real and clear. I love how each chapter is from a different character’s point of view. You get to see what it is like in their shoes and how they feel about the certain circumstance that they are in. And I’m being honest when I say that there are a lot of circumstances that go on in the book. You never know what is going to happen when you turn to the next page! That is something else I like about this book and series. You never know what is going to happen so you’re always on the edge of your seat. I have never read a book so fast in my life and it’s not because it was an easy read but because it was so good that I needed to see what happened next! I love books that keep me on the edge and don’t stop after something bad has happened. This book has a knack for having multiple things go wrong within a number of chapters or even pages which makes it more surreal. It’s not the usual happy ending that you normally get in love stories. It is so much better!

I mentioned before that each chapter is told from a different character’s point of view. I don’t know if I can say that I related to any of the characters but I really liked the character of Ben. Ben is a stubborn, brave, ignorant, self-centered, loyal and in love. He is my favorite character because you see him as this self-centered moron but you have to love him because he loves his best friend. And he doesn’t realize it right away which makes it that much better. It takes him awhile but eventually he realizes it and turns into this really great guy that you’d hate to see anything happen to. SPOILER…he dies later on in the series. Ben was a character that you hated in the beginning because he couldn’t see what you as the reader saw. Dramatic irony at its best! But he grew up and evolved into someone really great. I love characters like that! Those are the characters you root for the whole time but of course they usually end up dying…sad face.

I won’t lie and say that this is the only book of the series I have read because it isn’t. I have read all the way to book seven and there are eighteen books so I still have a ways to go. But that’s okay because I love this series and I’m up for the challenge. I will say that all of the books I have read so far, the first book is my favorite. I think the reason I like it so much is because it introduces all of the characters and what their problems are. You get introduced to the scenery and all of the possible scenarios that may or may not happen. That is what draws in a reader. The first book of any series is the most crucial because it gets the reader involved in what the books are going to be about. Bella Forrest is an amazing author and she has done a fantastic job with these books or the ones that I have read so far and I hope to read the rest of them! I hope you get the chance to read these fantastic books and enjoy Bella’s wonderful writing and stories!

Yours truly,

Breanna Korell

 

8 thoughts on “Reading Letter-A Shade of Vampire

  1. I haven’t read Twilight yet, but I like the idea of something similar, but that you think is better. I typically don’t jump on bandwagons quickly. (Thus, the not having read Twilight yet….) So, I’m mor excited about reading this than Twilight.

  2. The series sounds interesting. I have not read the twilight series yet, I just haven’t been into reading about vampires yet. But this sounds like a good beginning. I love when reading is fast-paced that keeps you On the edge of your seat. Thank you for the suggestion.

  3. Thank you for this letter. You might as well have addressed it to me since this really helped me chose this book. I am not a fan of the books that change the point of view each chapter or section, but I think I need to give this book a try. I hope it is as good as you describe!

Leave a Reply

