Take that leap into diversity!

I’m huge on diversifying reading but need to take my own advice and actually attempt to diversify my reading list! Like anything else you try to change or diversify, it gets hard and it gets uncomfortable. The moment I changed it, I went back to what I knew before. I went outside my comfort zone and read an LGBTQ book but as soon as I finished it, I went back to fiction and fantasy.  Why?  It is what I am used to but I know I need to spread my wings and fly a little.

Photo CC by: picsonica.comblack_white

I want to read at least ten books from the different categories on our book bingo by the end of our semester.  I’m well on my way to getting there with a few of the categories but some are still pretty dusty.  My goal is to read as many of these books as I possibly can before I become a teacher so I can tell my students to read diversely. I know they will learn so much and I want them to read, read, read!! My classroom library will be filled to the brim with so many different genres that my kids won’t know what to do with themselves! I’ll have fiction, non-fiction, fantasy, sci-fi, romance, comedy, history, biography, autobiography and so many others. I will read along side my kids just to show them that we all need to read diversely.

I tweeted earlier this week and said that when someone reads diversely they start to ask questions and they start to gain new knowledge about different topics.  I want not only my students to ask questions but I also want myself to ask questions.  I personally want to gain knowledge about problems surrounding the world and everything in it.  A diverse reading life is something you cannot oversee and you have to pursue it with everything you’ve got. yin-and-yang-152420_640

When you get the chance to read a book that may be out of your comfort zone or is just something you haven’t read yet, take that leap of faith and you read that book. Ask questions, gain knowledge and most of all, enjoy the diversity that comes with reading.

Picture CC by: pixabay.com

7 thoughts on “Take that leap into diversity!

  1. asimplebookaddiction says:

    Don’t feel bad, I did the same thing recently. I had been trying to branch out and diversify my reading and suddenly just needed to step back and read where I was comfortable for a little bit. Getting ready for another stretch now, I am ready again. I think that is exactly how we should be functioning when we learn. If it was easy, we wouldn’t be having this discussion at all, right?

  2. I think it is important to mix up your reading. It’s perfectly normal to read something different, go back to your comfort zone, then read something different again. I do the same thing, especially with book lengths and levels of intensity. Sometimes I want a quick read, sometimes a long book I can really get into. Sometimes funny, others serious… just depending on the day.

  3. I think that these are all great goals to have as a future teacher! I would also like to read as much and as diversely as I possibly can before I become a teacher. I get pulled back to fantasy novels all the time too, don’t worry. It is simply because the fantasy genre is amazing! I wish you well on your diverse reading goals! Great blog post!

    • Thank you! Fantasy is just too addicting because it offers us a better place to escape to even if it isn’t real…but I am getting better at reading diversely..slowly but surely.

  4. I really like how I can see this growth mindset in all your blog posts, Breanna! I know for myself, it’s always my goal to read more diversely, but it doesn’t just happen naturally. I have to make a more conscious effort to seek out these books and make sure I’m reading them. It definitely helps to read blogs that recommend a lot of diverse titles that sound interesting.

    • And I always feel like reading different kinds of books should usually come naturally but like you said, it really doesn’t! And I don’t like that it doesn’t because I have to push myself that much harder just to read a genre that I’m not too comfortable with! But I am getting better!

Leave a Reply

