Book Review: The Difference Between You and Me

So this week I read “The Difference Between You and Me”. 11699212 I read it for the LGBTQ slab in our Book Bingo! I was definitely nervous about reading this particular book just because it was under this section and I have never, EVER read anything like this! It was eye-opening to say the least. It was a change of scenery for me but I don’t think I’ll go back to something like this.  I’m not a huge fan of this subject so that made it more awkward than anything.  There was also a lot of language used that I felt very uncomfortable with and I wasn’t a fan of that.  I think the whole book made me uncomfortable. But that is just how I view the subject.               Picture CC by:goodreads.com

So this book is about two girls, Jesse and Emily, and the book follows their lives at school, home and with friends.  Jesse is the tomboy of the two and a rebel with a cause.  She doesn’t give a rat’s ass about what anything thinks and she lets the whole world know it, too.  Opposite of being a rebel, she is pretty quiet and kind of keeps to herself.  She isn’t one to shy away from everyone knowing she is lesbian but from the way she dresses, everyone already knows.

Picture CC by: pixabay.comimages

Then there is Emily.  She is the perfect girl.  She’s pretty, popular, smart and everyone loves her.  She has a boyfriend and he is probably just as popular as her.  They have been best friends since they were little and they make the perfect couple!  From the outside, it would seem she is an all-American girl.  But she holds a secret no one would ever expect.  She is actually bisexual and in a secret relationship with Jesse.  WHOA! Don’t worry it gets better!

Jesse wants to expose their relationship but Emily wants to keep it hidden.  She is the Vice President of the student council….she can’t tell people she is bisexual!  That would be like social suicide! (Mean Girls reference).  An event happens at the school in which Jesse chooses one side and Emily chooses the other.  Will it tear them apart or will Emily sacrifice her social stature for the girl she loves?pansexual_pride_flag_by_aesahaettr94-d4odua8.png  You’ll have to read it to find out!!!   Picture CC by: rezreloaded.deviantart.com

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Difference Between You and Me

  1. Wyoming Jen says:

    Hi there!
    This is a very intriguing book review. I appreciate your honesty that the subject matter made you feel a bit uncomfortable. However, reading your review it sounds like there were lots of elements of this book that you liked. Overall, it felt very positive. I am certainly going to be adding it to my TBR list.
    You say that this is a genre you won’t visit regularly. Was there something that could have been different to bring you back to the genre? Was it the language used? Or something else? I’m really interested.
    Great job going outside your comfort zone!

    • I would recommend it! I don’t think it was the language but just the overall subject matter that got to me. There is so much going on with this subject around the world that it gets to me in a negative way. Thanks for asking such a good question! Let me know what you think of it when you get a chance to read it!

  2. I too have not read a lot of LGBTQ but as this is something I need to know about as a future educator I am going to read some more books that fall under this criteria. I keep seeing this book on the internet and goodreads so I will definitely have to look for a copy.

  3. I know it is very difficult to read outside of our comfort zones. When doing so, our opinions of books can be skewed. I think you did an excellent job hyping of the story! Reading LGBTQ books aren’t too far from my comfort level. I believe that you hit the main points of the storyline well and I would like to add this to my To Be Read list! The secrets, decisions, a little romance, lies… it sounds like an interesting read!

    • It really is a good book and I’m glad I read it! Yes, it was out of my comfort zone, but I did enjoy it! I hope you get a chance to read it and enjoy it like I did. Thank you for reading my review!

Leave a Reply

