It’s okay…

It is so refreshing to read a teacher’s blog about stuff that you cannot change. It is also an upside to read about someone who is so honest and brave to tell his/her story. Justin Stortz’s blog post, “How to be a teacher for more than 5 years without killing yourself or others”, is the best thing I’ve read all week. Most teachers try to tell you all of the positive things about teaching and how it is so wonderful just to keep you on the path that you are on now. That isn’t Justin’s case. Remembering the things he mentions like how it is only a job, you’re more than just a teacher, don’t get full of yourself and have other hobbies besides teaching are really eye-opening. I want to be a teacher for a long time and, yes, I’m sure I will get tired of it at times and I’ll want to rip my hair out, but I don’t want to quit just because it gets a little hard. Reading this post is like reading a map. It tells you where to go, what to do and what not to do. I love it!

I also enjoyed reading “Celebrating a Beautiful Mess”! I think what caught my attention about this one is that she is just as much of a control freak as I am and that sometimes you have to let that go. You cannot be in control all the time no matter how crazy your classroom gets. And I cannot forget about the relationship part of this post because that is the number one thing I am hearing from my methods teacher at the moment. Relationships are crucial to have a well-rounded classroom. They build trust between you and your students and with yourself as well. One quote I really like from this post is “..they don’t have to fear you to respect you.” I think more teachers need to take that into consideration the next time they have a student who is acting up in class.

As much as I love reading about ways to better my classroom, I do like the occasional tips to deal with my colleagues. Angela Watson’s bog about how to deal with the colleagues who always complain was refreshing and I loved it! It’s going to be hard enough dealing with students who complain, so I don’t want to deal with the teachers as well. This is how I summed up the post: stick with the positive and likeable teachers, don’t comment on any complaint, and build relationships with people who lift you up and don’t tear you down. It will all work out in the end and you will be a better teacher for it. You will be more focused and less stressed from other teachers. It will reflect well on your students and the other teachers around you.

I love reading posts like these ones because like I said above, they are like a map. They guide you in the right direction. They are helpful tips on the computer screen and you can get them at any time! They are lifesavers! As a college student, I’m already stressing about the future and my first day in the classroom. These posts have helped me so much over the course of this semester as they have relieved some of that stress and helped me focus on some of the more positive benefits of teaching.

 

 

Leave a Reply

