WHY???

I watched Simon Sinek’s TEDtalk “Start with why-how great leaders inspire action”. http://www.ted.com/playlists/171/the_most_popular_talks_of_all.  He talks about three words: What, How and Why.  He says everyone knows what they do.  Some people know how they do it, but not a lot know why they do it.  After watching this talk, I compared it to teaching.  No, I’m not a teacher yet, but I like the concept of “why”.  Why is it that we do what we do?  Why is it important to do it?  WHY? WHY? WHY?  Simon said that if you talk to people about what you believe, they will start to believe in what it is that you are believing in.  I take this very seriously when it comes to being a teacher some day.  I believe that being a teacher is more than just showing up to school every morning and talking to your students about whatever it is that you’re teaching.  I take it more as a gift that you get to open and re-open every day.  I’m so excited to become a teacher and teach what I love to my students.  I’m majoring in English and I think it is one of the most overlooked subjects in the American school system.  Although it is definitely one of the most important ones, it isn’t fully appreciated like it should be.  I believe in what I’m going in to and I can’t wait to tell my students about it.  I want them to fall in love with all of the different authors and poets from centuries ago!  I want them to know that there is more to literature than just today’s authors or even song writers for that matter!  I want my students to be accustom to change.  Why, you might ask.  I was born into old time music from my parents, appreciation for what came before me, history that defined America and the simple things in life.  I want my students to have the same appreciation and gratitude for what came before them.  It’s an amazing world in which we live in and that should always be passed down.  I guess that is how I could become a great leader who inspires action!

2 thoughts on “WHY???

  1. Loved your post! You inspired me to watch the video you reflected. I am inspired to teach my class many of the same “simple thing” aspects of life! Thanks for the great read!

Leave a Reply

