Hi, my name is Breanna and I’m a computer virgin. (Many voices) “HI BREANNA!”

First of all, I’m pretty familiar with the basics of computers and have worked with different kinds before but I still consider myself a “Computer Virgin”.  That reason is because there is still so much to learn about them because they are always changing.  I just wanted to get that out there for everyone to know.  So what is Digital Literacy?  Well let me tell you what I found!

Digital Literacy is what is sounds like.  Literacy in a digital form.  Microsoft says it will help you understand computers more in a fundamental way.  They have a website where they have three different levels to help you understand more.  They are Basic, Standard, and Advanced.  They actually give really good examples and information that would come in handy when working in the field of digital literacy.  I picked up some good things to remember just from scrolling through it!

What does Digital Literacy mean?  It is the knowledge and skills used in a broad range of digital devices like computers, smartphones and tablets.  There are more but that is the basics.  Someone who is literate in this area would be able to communicate on social websites and possess skills in networks and programs.  I would say I’m somewhat there.

I may think of myself as a virgin when it comes to computers but I know a few things when it comes to this stuff.  I know how to blog, thanks to my wonderful teacher, Ellington!  It’s actually really cool because you can write whatever and how much you want and can share it with others.  You receive followers which is nice because they give you great feedback and it’s nice to interact with others like you!  And it’s nice to get stuff off your chest!  I also have Facebook but who doesn’t?  Having that would make you somewhat familiar with digital literacy!  So kudos to you 🙂 I also have a twitter.  This is a great thing to have because you can post random stuff all the time and people will actually like it hahaha!  Why?  I don’t know because some of that stuff is ODD!  But anyway, I would say I know some things about digital literacy.  I don’t really know of any other websites to share stuff like those ones but if there are any out there, please inform me! 🙂  I know more than just the networks of this area of learning.  I know how to use computers, laptops, smartphones, etc.  It doesn’t take much for me to catch along to something new and I think that comes from always being on my computer or phone.  And I’m kinda grateful for that!  I’m always going to want to learn more because there is always something to learn so I want to learn everything!

Leave a Reply

