Growing, learning and everything in between…

Every time we step out our front doors, we are stepping into a new and exciting world.  We learn something new everyday!  It’s in our nature to adapt to things and by doing so, we learn tons of things that may or may not come into use later on in life.  My life as a learner is one that is on-going.  I will never stop learning.  Even when I become a teacher, I will be learning something new every day.  Sure a lot of my learning has come from the classroom and teachers I have but a lot has also come from the outside world.  From my parents, siblings, employers, and just life in general.  I’d like to first start off with a particular teacher I had one semester who had, I wouldn’t say strict rules, but he had a very distinct set of rules.  I wasn’t used to having a teacher quite like him so it was definitely a learning process for me.  “Photo CC-By tv-store.ittrends.com”Listen!I had to learn to follow them to receive the grade or feedback that I wanted.  I had a little difficulty in his class at the beginning.  I was doing all of the assignments and completing them, just not how he would’ve liked them.  I knew I had to really focus on his wants and requirements so I listened very carefully every time he talked.  By the end of the semester I was receiving all A’s and enjoying class a little more.  Looking back now, I really appreciate everything he did and how he did it.  I’m glad he had the rules he did because that right there improved my learning tremendously!  I listen closer now than before and it has paid off.

Becoming a learner is more than just doing classroom assignments.  Opening your eyes to the world around you is a way of learning.  Two people who have helped me do that are my wonderful parents.  They have taught me so much about life.  Everything from school money to boys and friends.  They always give the best advice (whether I like to admit it or not) and they have always been there for me. mom and dad One saying they used to say to me was “If your friends jumped off a cliff, would you do it too?”  Of course I said no LOL.  I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it wasn’t for them.  They have been in the same place I am and so they know a thing or two about it.  I’m pretty sure I’ll keep learning from them until I’m old and gray and then I’ll teach my babies the same things.

Learning something new isn’t always as easy as 1,2,3.  It takes time and patience, something of which I do not have a lot of.  I like to know what I’m doing so I can get it done quickly and efficiently.  My world moves pretty quickly and so do I.  Working in a hospital has tested my patience plenty of times!  I work in the kitchen and I have to deal with hungry patients, staff and guests.  We can only move so fast and do so many things at once that I get angry at times.  People just don’t realize it.  I’ve been here for about a year now and I’m just getting used to the nurses, doctors, staff and the patients.  Over the course of the year, I’ve learned to just stop and take a breath and tell myself “You’re fine, Bre!”  This has actually hopped over into my school work when I get too stressed.  And now, I’m telling myself to slow down all the time.  I do enjoy working at the hospital even if I lose my mind sometimes but I’ve become a better person from working here.  I’ve learned to slow down and enjoy life.  “Photo CC-By ipkitten.blogspot.comImage result for cartoon watches creative commons license

I’ve always loved to read and write.  In high school, I was ‘Outstanding Student of the Year’ in my English class.  In that moment I knew I wanted to further my education in this particular subject.  I’m a Secondary English Education major and I couldn’t be more excited to actually start this journey.  But I wasn’t always in favor of the assignments we did in class.  My teacher was kinda lazy and didn’t like to do much that involved him actually doing his job.  He would teach from his desk and expect us to pay attention!  Yeah right!  (We had senioritis really bad!)  But even with his poor teaching skills, I still did my best and exceeded my own expectations.  Photo CC-By www.clipartpanda.com From that one teacher and his assignments and ways of teaching, I learned a lot.  I know I’m not a teacher yet but I’ve learned a lot of what NOT to do.  He made a great example of a teacher not to follow.  As a teacher, you need to interact with your students and make them want to pay attention and enjoy what they are learning.  What I learned from him will help me later on in life as a teacher myself, and as weird as this sounds, I’m grateful I had him as my senior English teacher! WHAT?!?!?!?!?!  We all learn new things, but it’s the impact those things have on us is what is important!

Probably the most influential person in my life throughout high school was my track coach.  He taught me so much but in the sense of track terms.  I was a sprinter and dedicated myself all four years because that was my favorite sport!  I wouldn’t let anything get in my way of succeeding.  My coach always told me to always push myself no matter how much pain I was in, how tired I was or when I was doing really awesome, he told me to go harder.running  That’s the same in life.  No matter what I’m going through, whether it’s family, friends, jobs or school, I will push myself as hard as I can and the outcome will be amazing.  And I know I did everything I could to succeed!  His ‘words of wisdom’ have really helped shape me into the woman I am today.  He pushed me through high school and I know he would be doing the same now.  So thanks coach! (That’s me in the orange BTW! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Growing, learning and everything in between…

  1. I think, often times, our negative experiences with our own education, make us try harder to be exemplary teachers. We know we don’t want to be “that teacher” who sits behind their desk and expects their students to gain knowledge and understanding by osmosis! I didn’t have a bad experience, per say, but I only had two teachers who I felt drove me to be better than I thought possible. They had extremely high expectations for me and would accept no less from me. The fact that I remember two positively out of over 20, says a lot about the education system as a whole. My goal is to be one of the two that some other child remembers fondly (probably while grumbling about how hard I was on them,) as helping them achieve their goals.

    • That’s exactly how I want to be remembered by my students! I want them to talk about me at their 30th class reunion and say our English teacher was still the best out of everyone! That’s my goal as a teacher!

Leave a Reply

