Changing my ways…

Image

I’m a big fan of exercising and staying fit.  Throughout high school I would workout everyday because I was in sports and I always felt good afterward.  But now that I’m in college I find myself being lazy and not really wanting to do anything other than homework.  I’m definitely more stressed now than I have ever been and to be honest, I don’t like it.  I just don’t have the motivation I used to.  I think it’s because I was in sports in high school and now all I do is go to class and sit in my room.  I have nothing to do with the rest of my day so you think I would workout.  Well I don’t and I really regret it.

I know for a fact that exercising can improve your overall health and mental awareness, which are two things I value.  Exercising can also improve one’s happiness just by exercising for 20-30 minutes a day.  So why would you not do it?  Lack of motivation is my problem.  We read about studies that showed people who exercised everyday are more happier than people who don’t exercise at all.  The proof is in the studies and from reading them I feel like I will exercise more now.  It’s like you’re killing two birds with one stone: you get your exercise in for the day and your overall happiness improves.  I know when I’m not happy because I’m more reserved and I don’t like to do a lot of things; my friends will also tell me I’m being a grump.  I don’t like being told that and I’m pretty sure other people don’t either.  Being happy is very important to me because I know I’m affecting people around me and their overall happiness will change.

So why not exercise at least 20 minutes a day?  You improve your overall health and you become a happier human being.  I’m going to try and exercise everyday whether its just walking around town or running on the treadmill.  I want to improve my health and relieve some of the stress that school is putting on me.  I know that this change in my life will bring an overall happiness to me and the people around me.  That sounds like a pretty good reason to me 🙂

“Let exercise be your stress reliever, not food.” -Author unknown

Leave a Reply

