Aside

Forgiveness

In my opinion, forgiveness is an essential way to bring happiness and peace to anyone’s life.  I’m the type of person that has to forgive someone if they have done wrong to me or it will eat me alive.  Yes, I will be mad at the person and I will have trust issues but I will be the bigger person and forgive them for what they have done.  I was always taught to forgive and move on.  No matter what the circumstances were, I forgave and forgot.

One of the biggest experiences in forgiveness was with my ex-boyfriend.  I don’t want to drag on the entire story of how we met and how everything fell apart so I’ll just say the basics.  We had dated for two years and since he was my first real boyfriend, I thought I was truly happy.  I was sadly mistaken, but I didn’t realize that until we broke up.  He broke up with on Christmas Eve of 2012.  It came as a huge shock to everyone including me.  He pretty much ignored me from then on out and it drove me insane.  I would cry myself to sleep every night and I even lost 5 pounds because my appetite was just not there.  After months of that, I finally moved on.  I still wasn’t happy so I convinced myself that if I wanted to be happy, I needed to forgive him. I didn’t tell him personally because we weren’t talking at the time. I just talked to myself and forgave him on the spot. I told my family and friends that I forgave him and that I was actually happier. I could finally feel free of the pressure of having him out of my life. It was a hard process but now that it’s over I couldn’t be any happier.

Forgiveness is a hard thing to master. Depending on the circumstances, someone may not forgive so easily as another. But it really can bring happiness to someone if they really try. I will always keep forgiving people no matter what they did and I will teach my kids that forgiving is a must. It will make you feel better and bring you a lot of happiness.  

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness

  1. It’s so true. I know some withhold forgiveness because it’s undeserved by the forgiven, but . . . forgiveness is a much greater gift to the giver, in my experience. It doesn’t mean welcoming someone in unabashedly afterward, but freeing emotional room up for other, better things.

Leave a Reply

