My Strengths and How I Use Them

I’ve been told I have a lot of strengths to go along with my type of personality. My top strengths, according to the VIA Signature Strengths Inventory, are faith, leadership and kindness. Surprisingly, none of these catch me by surprise. Many people have told me I have a lot of these strengths just like my results show.

Faith was my top strength. That didn’t surprise me at all because I’m a very religious person and I bring my faith into everything. When I say everything I mean everything; even praying before a test. I’ve been raised in a religious family and I’ve been taught to take my faith with me everywhere I go and put it into everything I do. After I saw that faith was my top strength, I couldn’t help but smile and think “my parents would be proud to know that their daughter is keeping up with her faith.”

Leadership was my second strength. I love that leadership came in second because I love helping people with problems and showing them the right paths. It’s funny because I want to be a teacher and leadership is something a teacher has to have to connect with their students. I was volleyball captain two years in high school and one of the leaders in track because I had so much experience with races and making it to state. Receiving the leadership role in anything is a huge honor because it shows that you are the type of person that can handle the struggles and situations that life can throw at you at any given moment. When anyone says you’re a leader it means you are showing your gift and that people can see you care. I’m honored.

I agree completely with Martin Seligman’s quote about using your strengths everyday and them making you happier. Since they are your strengths, it only makes sense that it would make you a happier person. I know that if I use any of my strengths, I become overwhelmed with joy and gratitude because I know I used them to the best of my ability.

“Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength.” -Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

